Aditya Sushant

Day 4 action in Event #68: The Little One for One Drop began with 14 players remaining and Aditya Sushant 10th in chips. Unfortunately, Sushant hit the rail in 11th place, earning $37,530 in the $1,111 buy-in tournament.

Aditya was KO’d by Richard Douglas, whose pocket queens held up through the flop, turn and river. The fateful hand saw Renato Kaneoya raise to 240,000 from middle position, prompting Sushant to shove his remaining 1,235,000 chips into the pot from the cutoff with K-J offsuit.

Sushant’s attempt to push Kaneoya off the pot likely would have worked, were it not for Douglas and his pair of ladies on the button. Douglas made the call, Kaneoya folded, and the board of J-7-4-3-5 gave Aditya a pair of jacks, ending his gallant run toward winning his second WSOP gold bracelet.

Team India’s WSOP Presence Felt

It was Sushant’s third cash at the 2018 WSOP in Las Vegas, following a 9th place finish in the $1,000 Online Championship (Event #61) that added $20,969 to his growing bankroll, and a min-cash of $2,343 in $1,500 NLHE (Event #66) for placing 161st.

Of course, poker fans are well aware that Sushant and Nipun Java became India’s first ever WSOP gold bracelet winners last year in the $1,000 NLHE Tag Team Event, together winning $150,637. Java won his second WSOP title later that summer in the $1K Online Championship, pocketing $237,688.

The fine showing among Indian players continued at the 2018 WSOP when Nikita Luther teamed up with Germany’s Giuseppe Pantaleo to win the Tag Team Event and $175,805. That was followed by Nishant Sharma’s historic run in the WSOP Main Event as he navigated his way through a huge field of 7,874 players to finish a highly respectable 34th place and earn $230,475.

Aditya Sushant’s 11th place finish in the Little One For One Drop pushed his career winnings on the live poker tournament circuit over the half-million dollar mark at $530,775. He is currently sixth on India’s all-time money list, according to the Hendon Mob database.

Here are the top ten money winners from India:

1 Vivek Rajkumar $4,427,667

2 Nipun Java $2,365,565

3 Aditya Agarwal $1,027,692

4 Raghav Bansal $957,497

5 Taha Maruf $782,527

6 Aditya Sushant $530,775

7 Kunal Patni $386,999

8 Rahul Byrraju $348,012

9 Kalyan Chakravarthy Cheekuri $292,627

10 Apoorva Goel $282,364

From Chennai, Sushant began his live poker career at the India Poker Championship in Goa back in December 2010. His first recorded cash was a 10th place finish.

However, it wasn’t long until Aditya found the winner’s circle, claiming his first title the same month over a field of 87 entries. Two months later he was back in Goa, once again tasting victory.

Sushant’s first cash in WSOP action came in 2014. He’s made the journey to Las Vegas every summer since, finishing in the money a whopping 10 times last year while winning his first WSOP championship.